Sunday Sonnet!

IMG_3807(WP)

🎀

Give me the grace my selfishness to yield,
Compassion shall its absence gladly fill;
Grant me the hapless indigent to shield,
Their long untended hungriness to still;
Give me the will intentions to sustain,
That time may not their content dissipate;
Grant grace that I my self-respect retain,
Lest mine, like other promises stagnate.
Mortals surrender easily to I,
Succumbing to unbridled appetite,
The route for all the world to go awry,
At last, declining into moral night.
To close the ever-widening divide,
Shall we build walls or bridges, let’s decide!

©Meanderings 2017

🎀

36 responses to “Sunday Sonnet!

  1. Indeed. A constant challenge! – but when we take it up and make it our own, we are able to be bridge-builders. Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautifully written! Love the passion flower too.xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Definately bridges, not walls.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I particularly like this sonnet – and I say Let’s build bridges….Wishing for you a beautiful Monday and week ahead…Janet 🙂 xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. “…at last declining into moral night…” alas, how true. Beautiful sonnet…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lovely and as thought-provoking as always, but let’s build bridges amongst us all, it’s the only way forwards…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I like this very much and have been thinking about walls for the same reason.You are a wonderful gardener as well.:)xx

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I have missed your sonnets. They are a treat in world so often devoid of them. This one was the perfect reminder that as hectic as life can get, I have much to be grateful for. The little I have is more than many in the world will ever have. Remembering them keeps me humble and willing to help.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I find bridges much more beautiful than walls! 😀 Hugs!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Wow a Passion flower growing in the concrete I’ve never witnessed that before but I have them in my field out back. I saw them from the window and went outside to investigate! I was so happy to see them. I love this sonnet E. Just had to come visit you today! ~ღ~ Tuesday hugs to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Nature is so inspiring 💜💚

    Liked by 1 person

  12. So powerful – thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

I thrive on Comments....

