Sunday Sonnet!

IMG_5117 (WP)

🎀

In desolation of the darkest night,
Attended by the emptiness of hope,
When solace harbingers have taken flight,
How are forsaken creatures meant to cope?
I passed a homeless lady on my walk,
Along the seaside promenade she sat,
Forlorn, on bench, inclined with none to talk,
Must shelter be her fated habitat?
Surrounded by her meager earthly wares,
Exposed to whims of Nature’s weather gods,
Will someone ever deign to tend her cares,
Perchance, among her fellow human bods?
What hankers in her soul no one can tell,
My heart bleeds prayers her future to be well!

©Meanderings 2018

🎀

17 responses to “Sunday Sonnet!

  1. Whatever took the lady to this point in her life, she demonstrated she still had choices, to associate or not to.
    Or else, the lady could be dwelling in her own deep place where her personal privacy is hers to keep….private.
    It is sad for us home dwellers to see this poverty, this evidence of a political society whose social morals have allowed this paucity of support and care, in favour of the accountant’s bottom line.

    X

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Agreed. Indubitably, It is a reflection of how civilised a society truly is.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi E this is beautiful and sad at the same time. I think life is this way at times. I hope you are doing well. I’ve missed hearing from you. I have much more time on my hands it seems to catch up big hugs to you ❤️💕

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Of all the struggles one must face one must face, being homeless is by far the worst one could imagine. I hope things have turned better for this lady…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. A haunting poem, how the homeless make my heart ache, yet what can we do? It always has me feeling guilty, having a home and all that comes with it while passing those who have nothing. Beautifully written.xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I feel so helpless when I see such people and it can happen to anyone alas.Divorce and losing jobs can be factors.Well written!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. A deeply private place. Homelessness has become common too even in western societies.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This is such a beautiful sonnet. I feel such a sense of hopelessness when I see so many homeless people. I am reminded that a smile and a kind word can help. Thank you, Bushka. xx

    Liked by 1 person

I thrive on Comments....