Sunday Sonnet!

IMG_4825-001

🦋

Speak to me gently when Life’s Light burns low
And hope of new tomorrows starts to fade,
I cannot bear to hear, ‘I told you so’,
Much less to have another me upbraid;
No need past failings, oversights recount,
Nor nourish feelings fountain of regret;
Too easily fine words concern discount,
Impeding gallant efforts to forget;
Much rather proffer understanding care,
By far more wholesome than disabling scorn,
Aware that none escape the tempter’s snare,
And all are left with misconduct to mourn!
That mortals, sans exception may feel free,
Speak gently, always, to yourself and me!

©Meanderings 2017

🦋

18 responses to “Sunday Sonnet!

  1. Great words of wisdom as usual Elliot. Great bloom.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Journey to Purpose and commented:
    I love this and had to share it! “Speak gently, always, to yourself and me!”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. No one knows my failings better than I myself. well done, E.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. delightful dewdrops…remind of holiday baubels

    Like

  5. Beautiful and uplifting- look to the future and strive not to our ego’s that seek to keep a person in their place by beating them over their head with their own mistakes. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This is such a beautifully poignant Sonnet. There is much food for thought here….but key to all is to move forward with love and hope. Janet 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

  7. As usual, I am behind … 😦 But, I shall speak gently and softly to you, and also to myself, for we are not perfect, but I think we’ve both done pretty darned good in our lives! So, I softly whisper ‘good night’ and send you a gentle … HUGE HUG!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Beautiful poem, by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh….how very beautiful, so very kind and gentle too.xxx

    Liked by 1 person

I thrive on Comments....

